JT65 AND RUDE OPERATORS

To be honest, I’m struggling for words.  Obviously, every DXer is familiar with HAMs who decide to ‘break’ into a QSO from time to time, and at least 50% of the time, it is potentially excusable because you cannot be sure they can hear the station you’re communicating with.

HOWEVER, THERE IS NO EXCUSE (THAT I AM AWARE OF) FOR DOING SO ON JT65.

By virtue of the way JT65 works, transmissions are an ‘all or nothing’ affair.  Specifically, unless another station can hear your ‘EA7CHS XU7AGA R-16’ transmission, there is no possible way they could decide to transmit back at the same time on the same frequency as the station you’re trying to work!  To be clear,  if you call me on a different frequency, this is ok, although perhaps a waste of time, until I finish my existing QSO: JUST DON’T CALL ME ON THE FREQUENCY WE ARE USING FOR THE QSO!

Today within 30 minutes, the exact scenario above has happened to me multiple times.

This wastes everyone’s time.  I’ll explain why as apparently some people don’t get it:

  • Firstly, I have to re-transmit until I either get a ’73’, or see the other station has given up.  This takes ~6 minutes+
  • Secondly, I have to write the station an email, explain they are in the log, and apologize for the rude breaker
  • Thirdly, I get angry, and waste time writing blog posts like these (and waste my battery).

Let me me clear, if you break into a JT65 QSO I’m having, this is what will happen:

  • You will be ignored for as long as I remember your call sign.
  • If you keep doing it, I may spot your call on the DX Cluster asking why.
  • If you really really annoy me, I’m likely to delete any existing QSOs we’ve had.  I am not joking about this.

The two stations that did the above over and over again today are lucky I’m not naming and shaming them on my blog.  I have no intention of causing trouble within the community, but this kind of behavior really grinds my gears, especially as it normally occurs when I am working a station that is ‘RARE DX’ like the USA or UK.  

Not only do I want ‘rare dx’ in my log, but I am 100% certain that most of the stations I’m working have few if any Cambodian QSOs in their log.

Please be considerate operators, and let me finish a QSO with the station I’m talking to.  This is exactly what you would expect others to do if the QSO was with you.  If you don’t adhere to this simple and basic courtesy, all you will have accomplished is ensuring you never get a QSO with me in your log.  

I’m not the only one who feels this way – please have a look at some of the following links detailing ‘DX Code of Conduct’:

W6SJ’s OP ED Article

ON4WW’s ‘Lets Make DX Enjoyable…’

DX Code of Conduct Website

PLEASE READ MORE BELOW FOR SCREENSHOTS (without full calls) OF THIS BEHAVIOR.  THE SCREENSHOTS SHOW HOW WITHIN ONE QSO TWO STATIONS CAUSE INTENTIONAL INTERFERENCE MEANING THAT JUST RECEIVING A REPLY FROM M0GBK TOOK 6 MINUTES RATHER THAN 2.  I WAS NEVER ABLE TO CONFIRM (OTHER THAN VIA EMAIL) THAT M0GBK RECEIVED HIS SIGNAL REPORT FROM ME.

Exhibit B Exhibit A

Leave a Reply

